Ten Lessons Learned from CSM New Orleans

What a crazy couple weeks it has been! From going to CSM and having a great time, to having two tests the next week, and getting sick the week after. Now that I’m better and a little less busy, I can spend some time writing again! As promised, my next post will highlight a few quick lessons I learned in New Orleans. Cheers!

  1. You cannot give what you do not have

Joy, health, positive outlooks, the list goes on and on. We try to give our patients our everything, but if we aren’t taking care of ourselves we have less to give.

  1. Express Gratitude more

Just say “thank you” more often! It’s really a win-win.

  1. Add in a proximal Theraband during shoulder IR or ER exercises

I love going to lectures and coming back with new exercise ideas. This exercise in particular utilizes a CLX band around the wrist and shoulder while performing ER at 90-90 position. It works on External rotators and scapular stabilizers at the same time.

  1. Weighted ball throwing programs are stupid

This just about came out of the mouth of the most highly regarded orthopedic surgeons in my book so to me it’s gospel.

  1. Pain is half pure sensation and the other half is your response and perception

A good note for our chronic pain patients as education is often the first step in this population

  1. Don’t say “no” and “but,” instead use “yes” and “and”

These are important rules in the art of improvisation and, turns out, getting the most out of life.

  1. Define clear achievements and success for yourself

1. ) To know where you’re going

2.) To know when you can celebrate. P.S: Always celebrate your victories no matter the magnitude

  1. The best networking is done with a drink in hand

Try it. I’ll bet it works.

  1. For neuromuscular retraining, think time under tension instead of the 20+ rep range

Neuronal connection cannot be achieved after a number of reps, it’s got to learn. We don’t learn by doing 5 assignments, we learn by putting in the hours.

  1. You can still be passionate about what you do even after 40+ years in PT

I listened to a professor talk about a topic that he finished with saying, “that’s what I want my legacy to be.” Pretty cool after so many years in a profession you can still have that fire

 

I could write a book on my experiences at CSM, but to spare you I figured a nice ten point list would be better. My final, bonus point if you will is to make memories. You’re only a student once so get out there and laissez les bon temps rouler!

 

               

 

Leave a comment